Visit the lava tunnels without a guide?

Entry Lava Tunnel 2004 Jocelyn Profundo (4)

Visiting the lava tunnels without a guide is permitted

A visit to the lava tunnels can be likened to a trip to the caving. Caving is the scientific exploration and study of underground cavities (caves, etc.). Caving is a legal outdoor sport open to all. Access to the caves is therefore open to anyone who wishes to enter, except on private land.


So the question is not about authorising exploration of the lava tunnels, but rather theability and experience to do it.


That's right, this activity may involve certain risks for those affected, but also for the natural environment created by the lava tunnels.

Exploring the lava tunnels without a guide does, however, have certain prerequisites:

  • The right equipment

Even if you don't need ropes to explore Réunion's lava caves, like any other mountain or caving activity, you'll still need to be able to climb them, appropriate equipment and specific personal protective equipment. Personal lighting must be appropriate and functional, even when humidity levels are high.

  • Topographical knowledge of the site


La knowledge of the site being explored and its network of galleries is also essential. The network on the 2004 coulee is the 5th longest in the world, at 6.5 km. Underground, there is no mobile network, so there is no way of reaching another person outside. In the event of an accident or other problem, you won't be able to alert emergency services without leaving the tunnel.

  • Knowledge of the natural environment

The lava tunnels are located in the heart of natural environments. Exceptional witnesses to the activity of the Piton de la Fournaise volcano, they are fragile in places. It is important to know how to evolve in and around them, while preserving them.

Visiting a lava tunnel with a guide: the advantages

Explore a lava tunnel with a guide is a good idea for anyone inexperienced in cavingor anyone who wants to find out more about Réunion's special natural features.


With a guide and instructor specialising in caving, you'll be on the move in safety So there's no risk of getting lost and much less risk of injuring yourself when you come across a narrow passage, an obstacle or a difficult-to-reach area!

Visiting a lava tunnel with a guide does not preclude the risk of injury - there is no such thing as 0 risk - but the advantage is that you are insured by the manager. Indeed, the Speleology is a sporting activity that is not generally covered by general insurance. It requires specific insurance to cover any incidents that may occur.


Lava tunnel at La Reunion - Profundo - Jocelyn Michel

Thanks to its in-depth knowledge of the environment, you will have access to the most beautiful parts of the lava tunnels walls covered in silver/chocolate, lava stalagtites/stalagmites, rocks in shades of yellow, orange, red and purple, large rooms or "secret" passages, ancient lava waterfalls....

You can also learn more about the geology and volcanic activity of RéunionYou'll also be able to learn more about the surrounding flora and fauna, and the natural history of the region, so you can enjoy your experience to the full.


As for the impact on the environment, local guides are generally very aware of environmental conservation and can help you to minimise your impact on the places you visit. They will ensure that you leave no trace of your visit and that you comply with local regulations.

Newsletter


Your comments


Contacts


Profundo, by Jocelyn Michel

(Sole trader)

SIRET : 419 831 920 00048

La Réunion logo
en_GBEN

We use cookies to ensure you have the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site, we will assume that you are happy with it.

Visiter les tunnels de lave sans guide ?

Entrée Tunnel de lave 2004 Jocelyn Profundo (4)

Visiter les tunnels de lave sans guide est autorisé

On peut apparenter la visite des tunnels de lave à de la spéléologie. La spéléologie est l’exploration et l’étude scientifique des cavités du sous-sol (grottes, etc.). Or, la spéléologie est un sport de pleine nature légal et ouvert à tous. L’accès aux grottes est donc, sauf passage sur terrain privé, ouvert à qui le souhaite.


La question ne concerne donc pas l’autorisation d’explorer les tunnels de lave mais bien la capacité et l’expérience pour le faire.


En effet, cette activité peut comporter certains risques pour les personnes concernées mais aussi pour l’environnement naturel que constituent les tunnels de lave.

L’exploration des tunnels de lave sans guide doit cependant respecter certains pré-requis :

  • Un matériel adapté

Même si l’exploration des grottes de lave de la Réunion ne nécessite pas de cordage, cette activité demande, comme toute autre activité de montagne ou de spéléologie, un équipement adapté et un matériel spécifique de protection individuel. L’éclairage personnel doit être adapté et fonctionnel, même sous un fort taux d’humidité.

  • Une connaissance topographique du site


La connaissance du site exploré et de son réseau de galeries est également primordial. Le réseau de la coulée 2004 est le 5ème plus long du monde, avec une longueur de 6.5 kms. Sous terre, il n’y a pas de réseau mobile donc pas de moyen de joindre une autre personne à l’extérieur. En cas d’accident ou d’autre problème, vous ne pourrez alerter les secours sans sortir du tunnel.

  • Une connaissance du milieu naturel

Les tunnels de lave sont situés au cœur de milieux naturels. Témoins exceptionnels de l’activité du volcan Le Piton de la Fournaise, ils sont par endroits fragiles. Il est important de savoir évoluer dans leur sein et autour d’eux, tout en les préservant.

Visiter un tunnel de lave avec un guide : les avantages

Explorer un tunnel de lave avec un guide est une bonne idée pour toute personne inexpérimentée en spéléologie, ou toute personne désireuse d’en savoir plus sur ces spécificités naturelles réunionnaises.


Avec un guide moniteur spécialisé en spéléologie, vous évoluerez en sécurité : pas de risque de vous perdre et beaucoup moins de risques de vous blesser lors d’un passage étroit, d’un obstacle ou d’une zone difficile d’accès !

Visiter un tunnel de lave avec un guide n’empêche pas un éventuel risque de se blesser, le risque 0 n’existant pas, mais l’avantage est que vous êtes assuré(e) par l’encadrant. En effet, la spéléologie est une activité sportive qui n’est général pas assurée par les assurances généralistes. Sa pratique demande une assurance spécifique pour la prise en charge d’un éventuel incident.


Tunnel de lave la reunion - Profundo - Jocelyn Michel

Grâce à sa connaissance fine du milieu, vous aurez accès aux plus beaux endroits des tunnels de lave : murs nappés de couleurs argent/chocolat, stalagtites / stalagmites de lave, roches aux nuances de jaune, orange, rouge et violet, grandes salles ou passages ”secrets”, anciennes cascades de lave….

Vous pourrez également en apprendre davantage sur la géologie et l’activité volcanique de la Réunion, mais aussi la faune et la flore environnante, l’histoire naturelle de la région et apprécier pleinement votre expérience.


Quant à l’impact sur l’environnement, les guides locaux sont généralement très sensibilisés à la préservation de l’environnement et peuvent vous aider à minimiser votre impact sur les lieux que vous visitez. Ils veilleront à ce que vous ne laissiez aucune trace de votre passage et à ce que vous respectiez les réglementations locales.

Newsletter


Vos avis


Contacts


SIRET : 419 831 920 00048

Jocelyn Michel

(Entrepreneur Individuel)

La Réunion logo

Nous utilisons des cookies pour vous garantir la meilleure expérience sur notre site web. Si vous continuez à utiliser ce site, nous supposerons que vous en êtes satisfait.