What to do as a family in Réunion: activities and outings by age group

Reunion Island is the perfect destination for family holidaysbecause it offers a wide range of activities for young and old alike. Here is a selection of activities for all ages to make the most of this island paradise.

Family activities for children aged 3 and over:

  • Swimming and making sandcastles on the beaches of the lagoon

The lagoon of Réunion Island is the ideal place for a safe swimming with children. The calm, shallow waters provide the perfect setting for cooling off and playing in the water. However, it is also possible to swim at other beaches.

Visit beaches where you can swim with young children :

  • Hermitage beach

This sandy beach lined with filaos is ideal for picnics and lounging. Here, the translucent waters of the lagoon are protected by a coral reefThe water is 27 degrees Celsius, with hundreds of multicoloured fish and coral.

  • Saint Pierre beach

The sandy beach at Saint-Pierre slopes gently down to the ocean and is ideal for children. You can relax in the sun, build sandcastles and swim in peace. The beach is also next to water gamesAnd don't forget to bring your young children along for the ride: they'll love being splashed (and you'll love being splashed) by the water jets!

  • The beach at the watering hole

The beach at Trou d'Eau is perfect for children, as the coral reef offers a wonderful view over the sea. safe swimming. The water is also shallow. Once there, your children can once again discover the wide variety of colourful fish and coral.

  • Boucan Canot beach

It is one of the most beautiful white sand beaches on the islandThe beach is popular for its waves and seabed. A swimming area is secured by an anti-shark net, but you must remain vigilant because of the strong currents. For the little ones, there is a natural swimming pool formed by volcanic rocks.

  • La Saline beach

This beach is an extension of Plage de l'Ermitage and the lagoon. Also handi-plageLa Saline beach is accessible to people with reduced mobility.

  • The beaches of St Leu

One is in the city centre and the other at Pointe au Sel. Both are protected by a small lagoon.

  • Grande Anse beach

This magnificent white sand beach is lined with coconut palms and vacoas (a large palm-like plant). Swimming is prohibited, however a natural pool has been created, thanks to a barrier of rocks.

children beach outing reunion island
  • Visit Kélonia, Réunion's sea turtle observatory

Kélonia is a marine turtle research and protection centre. which will delight your youngest visitors. They can learn a lot about these fascinating creatures and observe different species of turtle. Interactive activities are also on offer to make the visit even more rewarding.

And if you like turtles, you can also go to watching land and sea turtles at the Turtle Garden in Les Avirons (near Etang salé).

  • A feast for the eyes at the Saint-Gilles aquarium

Dive into the heart of the Indian Ocean with your family and discover the marine species of Réunion Island at the Saint Gilles Aquarium. The Aquarium is a a place to discover the island's marine environment, but also to provide information and raise awareness about it.

On site, fish, seahorses, sharks and octopus await you in different marine environments: volcanic cliffs, coral gardens, the deep sea, the open sea...

  • Summer sledging in Maido with a pony ride

In the Parc de la Luge, try summer tobogganing in the heart of a tropical forest ! Children aged 3 and over can go tobogganing (children under 1.40m must be accompanied by an adult). The little ones can also enjoy a pony ride. Other activities for older children include archery, all-terrain scooters and remote-controlled boats.



Activities and family outings on Réunion Island for children aged 6 and over

  • Family hiking in Réunion

From the age of 6, why not take your children for a walk and explore the beauty of Réunion on a short hike ? Réunion has an abundance of trails that are accessible to young children. Even on short hikes, or even walks, you can enjoy superb panoramic views of the cirques, mountains and coastline of Réunion.

Here are a few examples easy hikesThe walk takes no more than 3 hours:

- Loop from the Plaine des Sables to the small crater of Piton Hauy

- The Cascade Jacqueline and the tour of Pointe de Langevin

- Cap Noir and Roche Verre Bouteille

- Chemin du Cap Jaune

  • Walking on ancient lava flows

For younger children, a a walk through the volcanic garden at Pointe de la Table in Saint Philippe is ideal. Allow around an hour for this 3 km loop (1h). on the old lava flows of 1986. Beware, however, of the sun's reflection off the volcanic rock: bring a hat and sun cream, and leave early in the morning or late in the afternoon. Explanatory panels line the route, providing an educational introduction to this place steeped in history.

  • Exploring the Lava tunnels in complete safety
family lava tunnel outing on Reunion Island

For a a memorable underground experience with your childrenDiscover the Réunion lava tunnels.

Equipped with helmets and headlamps and accompanied by a guide who specialises in lava tunnels, your children will be amazed by these fascinating buried volcanic formations.

It's a fun and educational activity that will give them a better understanding of the island's volcanic history.

Discover the joys of river swimming in enchanting sites such as the Rivière des Marsouins or the Jacqueline waterfall at Langevin. These places are perfect for a refreshing swim in the heart of nature.

Here are a few examples freshwater bathing areas easily accessible for childrenand safe for swimming:

North of the island :

  • Bassin Bœuf de la rivière Sainte-Suzanne: 300m walk from the Sainte-Suzanne car park (access via rocks)

South of the island:

  • Jacqueline waterfall at Langevin: 20-minute walk from the port of Langevin
  • Grand Galet waterfall at Langevin: 5-minute walk from the viewpoint, accessible by car from the village of Langevin.
  • Manapany-Les-Bains basin in Saint-Joseph
  • Bras de la Plaine basins, near Le Tampon and Entre-deux

East of the island :

  • The Blue Basin at Saint-Anne
  • Rivière des Marsouins at Saint-Benoît (îlet Coco and îlet Bethléem basins)

West of the island :

  • La Pointe Au Sel near Saint-Leu

The Cité du Volcan, located on Réunion Island, is a interactive museum dedicated to the island's volcanic activity. Designed to captivate visitors of all ages, the facility features fun and educational exhibitions that explain how volcanoes work in an immersive way. Young visitors can experience a realistic simulation of a volcanic eruption thanks to holographic projections, augmented reality and sound and visual effects. It's a must-see visit for a better understanding of volcanism on Réunion!

  • Fun in Réunion's leisure and adventure parks

For children aged 6 and over, many leisure parks welcome your children for fun family activities. Here is a (non-exhaustive) list:

- Parc Aventure de l'Étang-Salé: a high ropes course in the Étang-Salé forest, suitable for children aged 6 and over, with various levels of difficulty.

- AkOatys: located in Étang-Salé, this water park has slides, pools and water games for children aged 6 and over.

- Cilaosa Parc Aventure: this adventure park in Cilaos offers treetop adventure courses suitable for children, with zip lines and suspension bridges.

- Parc du Colosse: in Saint-André, this public park offers play areas, pony rides and inflatable structures for children.

- Parc des Mascareignes: in Saint-Denis, this water park has slides and pools suitable for children aged 6 and over.


Leisure and family activities with children aged 8 and over

  • Go on a water ramble

The water sports in Réunion offer a unique adventure for families with children aged 8 and over. There are a number of must-see places where you can discover the island's natural beauty in complete safety.

Rivière des RochesBetween the La Mer and La Paix basins in Sainte-Suzanne, there are water courses specially designed for children, combining swimming and exploring waterfalls. You can try your hand at jumping between 4 and 8 metres into pools of water, sliding down natural slides and swimming in the river, while admiring the clear waterfalls.

Particularly suited to families with children aged 8 or 10 and over, the descent of the Rivière des Roches is great fun. In this part of Réunion Island, in the north-east near Saint-Benoit, you will be immersed in an environment of basalt rock, surrounded by lush green vegetation.


For adults aged 12 and over: our ideas for family fun

family activity canyoning reunion

For young thrill-seekers, the rafting is an unavoidable option on the Rivière des Marsouins at Saint-Benoîtwhere the rapids are part of the action.

Canyoning is also very popular on Réunion, and you can enjoy it with your family in the Canyon de Sainte-Suzanne or the Canyon de Langevin (Petit Galet)where the courses are suitable for beginners.

For those who prefer calmer water activitiesPaddleboarding and kayaking are perfect. The Saint-Gilles lagoon is an ideal place for paddle boarding in crystal-clear waters, while kayaking can be practised in the Saint-Paul baywith breathtaking views of the island's coastline. These activities allow you to discover Réunion from a different angle, while taking full advantage of its exceptional natural environment.

  • Snorkelling and scuba diving in the lagoon

When it comes to aquatic activities, there's plenty to choose from on Réunion Island! Once again, Réunion's lagoon is a veritable natural paradise where you can introduce your children to snorkelling. Equipped with masks and snorkels, they can observe a multitude of colourful fish and coral.

For the more adventurous, you can try your hand at the scuba diving by diving further out to sea... That's where you can get a closer look at the cetaceans...

For young and old...

  • Watching whales and dolphins offshore

Réunion is THE spot for whale and dolphin watching. From June to October, humpback whales come to breed in the waters surrounding the island, offering a unique spectacle. Dolphins, meanwhile, can be seen all year round, much to our delight. Climb aboard a boat and let yourself be carried away to meet them!


These other articles may be of interest to you...

With its many lava tunnels caused by volcanic eruptions, Réunion is a fantastic playground for caving. Would you like to go caving on the island? Here's everything you need to prepare!

suspension bridge between saint benoit and sainte rose in Réunion

Located on the east coast of Réunion Island, in the Sud Sauvage region, the commune of Sainte-Rose offers a multitude of activities and sites to discover. Wondering what to see and do in Sainte-Rose on Réunion Island? Here are a few tips...

cap méchant falise coast saint-philippe reunion island

In the "wild south", Saint-Philippe is renowned for its lush countryside and unique volcanic landscapes. From natural heritage to outdoor activities, here's our advice on the main things to do when you visit Saint-Philippe.

Newsletter


Your comments


Contacts


Profundo, by Jocelyn Michel

(Sole trader)

SIRET : 419 831 920 00048

La Réunion logo
en_GBEN

We use cookies to ensure you have the best experience on our website. If you continue to use this site, we will assume that you are happy with it.

Que faire en famille à la Réunion : les activités et sorties classées par âge

L’île de la Réunion est une destination parfaite pour des vacances en famille, car elle offre une grande variété d’activités accessibles aux petits et grands. Voici une sélection d’activités classées par tranche d’âge pour profiter pleinement de cette île paradisiaque.

Les activités famille avec enfants à partir de 3 ans :

  • Se baigner et faire des châteaux de sable sur les plages du lagon

Le lagon de l’Île de la Réunion est l’endroit idéal pour une sortie baignade en toute sécurité avec des enfants. Les eaux calmes et peu profondes offrent un cadre parfait pour se rafraîchir et jouer dans l’eau. Cependant, il est possible de se baigner dans d’autres plages aménagées.

Voici les plages où se baigner avec des enfants en bas âge :

  • La plage de l’ermitage

Cette plage de sable blond bordée de filaos est idéale pour le pique-nique et le farniente. Ici, l’eau translucide du lagon est protégée par une barrière de corail, où évoluent des centaines de poissons multicolores, des coraux, dans une eau à 27 degrés.

  • La plage de Saint Pierre

À Saint-Pierre, la plage de sable descend en douce pente vers l’océan, et est idéale pour les enfants. Vous pourrez vous détendre sous le soleil, construire des châteaux de sable et nager en toute tranquillité. La plage se trouve également à côté de jeux d’eau, ne manquez pas d’y faire un tour avec vos jeunes enfants : ils vont adorer se faire éclabousser (et vous éclabousser) par les jets d’eau !

  • La plage du trou d’eau

La plage de Trou d’Eau est parfaite pour les enfants car la barrière de corail offre une baignade en toute sécurité. L’eau y est également peu profonde. Sur place, vos enfants pourront découvrir encore une fois la grande variété de poissons colorés et de coraux.

  • La plage de Boucan Canot

C’est l’une des plus belles plages de sable blanc de l’île, appréciée pour ses vagues et ses fonds marins. Une zone de baignade est sécurisée par un filet anti-requin, néanmoins il faut rester vigilant en raison des forts courants. Pour les plus petits, une piscine naturelle formée par des roches volcaniques a été aménagée.

  • La plage de la Saline

Cette plage se trouve dans le prolongement de la plage de l’Ermitage, ainsi que du lagon. Également handi-plage, la plage de la Saline est accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite

  • Les plages de St Leu

L’une se trouve au centre-ville et l’autre à la pointe au sel. Toutes les deux sont protégées par un petit lagon.

  • La plage de Grande Anse

Cette magnifique plage de sable blanc est bordée de cocotiers et de vacoas (grande plante qui ressemble à un palmier). La baignade y est interdite, cependant un bassin naturel y a été aménagé, grâce une barrière de rochers.

enfant sortie plage île réunion
  • Visiter Kélonia, l’observatoire des tortues marines de la Réunion

Kélonia est un centre de recherche et de protection des tortues marines qui ravira vos enfants en bas âge. Ils pourront y apprendre beaucoup sur ces créatures fascinantes et observer des tortues de différentes espèces. Des activités interactives sont également proposées pour rendre la visite encore plus enrichissante.

Et si vous aimez les tortues, vous pouvez également aller observer les tortues terrestres et marines au Jardin des tortues aux Avirons (près de l’Etang salé).

  • En prendre plein les yeux à l’aquarium de Saint-Gilles

Plongez en famille au cœur de l’océan Indien, à la découverte des espèces marines de la Réunion, à l’Aquarium Saint Gilles. L’Aquarium est un lieu de découverte, mais aussi d’information et de sensibilisation au milieu marin réunionnais.

Sur place, poissons, hippocampes, requins, poulpes vous attendent dans des milieux marins différents : falaises volcaniques, jardins coralliens, profondeurs, grand large…

  • Faire de la luge d’été à Maido avec une balade en poney

Au parc de la Luge, testez la luge d’été au cœur d’une forêt tropicale ! Il est possible de descendre les pistes de luge à partir de 3 ans (les enfants doivent être accompagnés par un adulte jusqu’à leur 1m40). Pour les plus petits, ils pourront aussi apprécier une balade en poney. D’autres activités sont possibles au parc pour les plus grands : tir à l’arc, trottinettes tout terrain, bateaux téléguidés.



Activités et sorties famille à la Réunion à partir de 6 ans

  • Partir en randonnée en famille à la Réunion

A partir de 6 ans, pourquoi ne pas emmener vos enfants marcher et explorer les beautés de la Réunion à travers une courte randonnée ? La Réunion regorge de sentiers accessibles pour les jeunes enfants. Même sur de petites randonnées, voire balades, vous pourrez profiter de superbes panoramas sur les cirques, les montagnes ou le littoral de la Réunion.

Voici quelques randonnées au niveau facile, ne nécessitant pas plus de 3h de marche :

– Boucle de la plaine des sables au petit cratère du Piton Hauy

– La Cascade Jacqueline et le tour de la Pointe de Langevin

– Le Cap Noir et Roche Verre Bouteille

– Chemin du Cap Jaune

  • Marcher sur les anciennes coulées de lave

Pour les plus jeunes, une balade au jardin volcanique de la Pointe de la Table à Saint Philippe est idéale. Comptez environ une heure pour cette boucle de 3 km (1h) sur les anciennes coulées de lave de 1986. Attention toutefois à la réverbération du soleil sur la roche volcanique : prévoyez un chapeau et de la crème solaire, et préférez partir tôt le matin ou en fin d’après-midi. Des panneaux explicatifs jalonnent le parcours, offrant une découverte pédagogique de ce lieu chargé d’histoire.

  • Explorer en toute sécurité les tunnels de Lave
sortie tunnel de lave en famille à la Réunion

Pour une expérience souterraine mémorable avec vos enfants, partez à la découverte des tunnels de lave de la Réunion.

Munis de casques et de lampes frontales, accompagnés d’un guide-moniteur spécialisé dans les tunnels de lave, vos enfants seront émerveillés par ces fascinantes formations volcaniques enfouies.

C’est une activité à la fois éducative et amusante qui leur permettra de mieux comprendre le volcanisme de l’île.

Découvrez les joies de la baignade en rivière dans des sites enchanteurs comme la rivière des Marsouins ou la cascade Jacqueline à Langevin. Ces lieux sont parfaits pour une baignade rafraîchissante en pleine nature.

Voici quelques lieux de baignades en eau douce accessibles facilement avec des enfants, et sans danger pour la baignade :

Nord de l’île :

  • Bassin Bœuf de la rivière Sainte-Suzanne : 300m à pied depuis le parking de Sainte-Suzanne (accès via des rochers)

Sud de l’île:

  • Cascade Jacqueline à Langevin : 20 mn de marche depuis le port de Langevin
  • Cascade Grand Galet à Langevin : 5 mn de marche depuis le belvédère accessible en voiture à partir du village de Langevin
  • Bassin de Manapany-Les-Bains à Saint-Joseph
  • Bassins du Bras de la Plaine, près du Tampon et de l’Entre-deux

Est de l’île :

  • Le Bassin Bleu de Saint-Anne
  • Rivière des Marsouins à Saint-Benoît (bassins de l’îlet Coco et de l’îlet Bethléem)

Ouest de l’île :

  • La Pointe Au Sel près de Saint-Leu

La Cité du Volcan, située à La Réunion, est un musée interactif consacré à l’activité volcanique de l’île. Conçu pour captiver les visiteurs de tous âges, l’établissement propose des expositions ludiques et pédagogiques qui expliquent de manière immersive le fonctionnement des volcans. Les jeunes visiteurs pourront vivre une simulation réaliste d’éruption volcanique grâce à des projections holographiques, de la réalité augmentée et des ambiances sonores et visuelles. Une visite incontournable pour mieux comprendre le volcanisme à la Réunion !

  • S’amuser dans les parcs de loisirs et d’aventures de la Réunion

A partir de 6 ans, de nombreux parcs de loisirs accueillent vos enfants pour des activités ludiques en famille. En voici une liste (non exhaustive) :

– Parc Aventure de l’Étang-Salé : parcours acrobatique en hauteur dans la forêt de l’Étang-Salé, adapté aux enfants dès 6 ans avec divers niveaux de difficulté.

– AkOatys : situé à l’Étang-Salé, ce parc aquatique propose des toboggans, des piscines et des jeux d’eau pour les enfants à partir de 6 ans.

– Cilaosa Parc Aventure : ce parc d’aventures situé à Cilaos offre des parcours accrobranche adaptés aux enfants, avec des tyroliennes et des ponts suspendus.

– Parc du Colosse : à Saint-André, ce parc public propose des aires de jeux, des balades en poney, et des structures gonflables pour les enfants.

– Parc des Mascareignes : à Saint-Denis, ce parc aquatique propose des toboggans et des piscines adaptées aux enfants à partir de 6 ans.


Loisirs et activités famille avec des enfants à partir de 8 ans

  • Partir en randonnée aquatique

Les randonnées aquatiques à La Réunion offrent une aventure unique pour les familles avec des enfants de plus de 8 ans. Plusieurs lieux incontournables vous permettent de découvrir la beauté naturelle de l’île en toute sécurité.

La rivière des Roches, entre les bassins La Mer et La Paix à Sainte-Suzanne, accueille des parcours aquatiques adaptés aux enfants, mêlant nage et exploration de cascades. Vous pourrez tester les sauts entre 4 et 8 m dans des vasques d’eau, les toboggans naturels et la nage dans la rivière, tout en admirant des cascades d’eau claire.

Particulièrement adapté aux familles avec des enfants à partir de 8 ou 10 ans, la descente de la Rivière des Roches est très ludique. Dans cette partie de l’île de la Réunion, au nord-est tout près de Saint-Benoit, vous serez plongés dans un environnement de roche basaltique, entourés d’une végétation verdoyante et luxuriante.


Pour les grands à partir de 12 ans : nos idées pour s’amuser en famille

activité famille canyoning reunion

Pour les jeunes amateurs de sensations fortes, le rafting est une option incontournable sur la rivière des Marsouins à Saint-Benoît, où les rapides sont de la partie.

Le canyoning est également très prisé à la Réunion, vous pouvez le pratiquer en famille dans le Canyon de Sainte-Suzanne ou le Canyon de Langevin (Petit Galet), où les parcours sont adaptés aux débutants.

Pour ceux qui préfèrent des activités nautiques plus calmes, le paddle et le kayak sont parfaits. Le lagon de Saint-Gilles est un endroit idéal pour pratiquer le paddle dans des eaux cristallines, tandis que le kayak peut être pratiqué dans la baie de Saint-Paul, offrant une vue imprenable sur les côtes de l’île. Ces activités permettent de découvrir La Réunion sous un angle différent, tout en profitant de son environnement naturel exceptionnel.

  • Snorkeling, plongée sous-marine dans le Lagon

En termes d’activités aquatiques, vous avez vraiment le choix à la Réunion ! Encore une fois, le lagon de la Réunion est un véritable paradis naturel où vous pourrez initier vos enfants au snorkeling. Equipés de masques et de tubas, ils pourront observer une multitude de poissons colorés et de coraux.

Pour les plus audacieux, vous pouvez vous adonner à la plongée sous-marine en plongeant plus au large… C’est là que vous pourrez observer de plus près les cétacés…

Pour les petits et grands…

  • Observer les baleines et dauphins au large

La Réunion est LE spot pour observer les baleines et les dauphins. De juin à octobre, les baleines à bosse viennent se reproduire dans les eaux entourant l’île, offrant un spectacle unique. Les dauphins, quant à eux, sont visibles toute l’année, pour notre plus grand plaisir. Montez dans un bateau et laissez-vous porter à leur rencontre !


Ces autres articles peuvent vous intéresser…

Parcourue de nombreux tunnels de lave causés par les éruptions volcaniques, la Réunion est un formidable terrain de jeux pour la spéléologie. Vous aimeriez faire une sortie spéléo sur l’île ? Voici de quoi bien préparer cela !

pont suspendu entre saint benoit et sainte rose à la Réunion

Située sur la côte est de l’île de La Réunion, dans le Sud Sauvage, la commune de Sainte-Rose offre une multitude d’activités et de sites à découvrir. Vous vous demandez que visiter et que faire à Sainte-Rose à la Réunion ? Voici quelques conseils…

côte cap méchant falise saint-philippe île de la réunion

Dans le « Sud sauvage », la commune de Saint-Philippe est réputée pour sa nature luxuriante et ses paysages volcaniques uniques. Entre patrimoine naturel et activités de pleine nature, voici nos conseils sur les principales choses à faire lors de votre passage à Saint-Philippe.

Newsletter


Vos avis


Contacts


SIRET : 419 831 920 00048

Jocelyn Michel

(Entrepreneur Individuel)

La Réunion logo

Nous utilisons des cookies pour vous garantir la meilleure expérience sur notre site web. Si vous continuez à utiliser ce site, nous supposerons que vous en êtes satisfait.